Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Federal – Canada Revenue Agency for employee’s $538,000 moving expenses
Provincial – Ontario’s Electric Vehicle Incentive Program, which provides subsidies for luxury cars
Municipal – City of Victoria for its bungled Blue Bridge project
Lifetime Achievement – The Government of Ontario for its mishandling of energy policy

OTTAWA, ON: The Canadian Taxpayers Federation (CTF) today held its 19th annual Teddy Waste Awards ceremony, celebrating the best of the worst in government waste from the past year. CTF Federal Director Aaron Wudrick served as host, joined by the CTF’s pig mascot Porky the Waster Hater and talented event hostess Sam. The awards event took place on Parliament Hill in the Charles Lynch Press Conference Theatre.

The Teddy, the pig-shaped award given annually by the CTF to government’s worst waste offenders, is named for Ted Weatherill, a former federal appointee who was fired in 1999 for submitting a panoply of dubious expense claims, including a $700 lunch for two.

“We take our job as waste watchdogs seriously, but that doesn’t mean we can’t have some fun highlighting some of the most outrageous examples,” said Wudrick. “Especially since governments seem infinitely creative when it comes to dreaming up new ways to waste money.”

No comments: